Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Thanks

Snowgem - Composition 1.1

First of the twenty. Here we go!

Artist: Johannes Vermeer - Girl with a Pearl Earring
    Time: ~60 minutes

The economy in the background allows the viewer's eyes to rest solely on girl, making her the main focus of the piece. The primary emphasis is in the eyes, as it is the most detailed part of the painting.

(I'm still fairly new at painting digitally, so excited to improve on my speed, accuracy, and design!)
    Attached Images Attached Images  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Not sure if I'm supposed to critique after each study or after I have finished all 20, but I just post the links to two that I've critiqued so far.

http://www.conceptart.org/forums/sho...omposition-1-1
    http://www.conceptart.org/forums/sho...omposition-1-1
    http://www.conceptart.org/forums/sho...tion-1-1/page2
    Last edited by snowgem; July 21st, 2015 at 05:56 PM.

Thanks
    Study #2

Artist: Albert Bierstadt - Among the Sierra Nevada Mountains
    Time: ~60 minutes

Beautiful rhythm and variety in the shapes and textures in the receding mountains and the trees across the painting. Bierstadt also adds more variety by painting small deer near the water to contrast with the size of the Sierra Nevada mountains.

I noticed that some of my darks on the mountains were a bit too dark and mountains in the back should be fairly lighter. Still need to work on accuracy but getting there. =)

Thanks
    Hey snowgem, just noticed your first piece and how its pretty good although I think you could have made some areas a bit more defined like the eyes. Especially with the highlights, that would make the eyes pop out more (in a good way). The skin feels just a touch too light but really close. Attention with those middle tones. Your second piece lacks some attention in the middle, again middle tones. Its a extremely detailed painting and for me a hard one. Keep it up your doing a great job!