Art: Opinions on Hogarths Shading book

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Post Opinions on Hogarths Shading book

Anyone read through it?

Would this be a book you'd recommend for newbies? such as I, and I'm not talking of concept beginner more of a total beginner.

Any other ideas of WHERE the private lectures should start?, meaning what should one begin to draw, perspective based cars and vehicles / human anatomy / minddrawn pictures / art...

Thanks in advance ppl

/Sam0s

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I own this book for quite a while now (since being a newbie ) and I wouldn't recommend it for a beginner. Well, at least not for learning. Rather for inspiration. Hogarth is great but IMO has no didactical qualities. He gives no hints at how to practise, what to practise and so on. Go to a bookstore and leaf through it and you'll see what I mean.

:p

Jester

Imagination is intelligence having fun!

Jester's Sketchbook

Portfolio web site

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

true_

yea i catch yer meaning, i came across a site that showed som pages from the book and it seems more of an book to fuel your inspiration-tank as you say, though seems mostly interesting

thanks for yer reply jester

stay dedicated

/ -

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    i didnt learn much of anything from that book. i have his anatomy and dynamic figure drawing books, and, while they aren't the best books on the subject, i did pick up a few good pointers from them.

i dont really know of a good book on shading, although portrait drawing books are a good way to learn since the face has all sorts of weird shadows and highlights.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following