Thanks

Question To Illustrate, or Animate?

Hey guys I was wondering if any of you could give me some advice on what I should be going into. I am an Art Student who is really trying to figure out what I want to do with it. I have completed a foundation art course, and am now stuck trying to figure out what to specialize in, or what course to take now.

I have basically narrowed my option down to Illustration or Animation. And what I want to know is how interchangabe do you think they really are? I am not sure what I want to do, but I want to learn skills that could carry me through either proffession either making cartoons, storyboards, or possibly providing illustrations and concept art.

If you were me, what would you take, or at least head into. What would be least limiting/most flexible, and give you the best overall usefull art training for your dollar?

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Good question. I would say animation over illustration as far as where to spend your educational dollars. No, I'm not just saying this because I'm an animator, but because of what you will learn in school. In animation, you will not only learn the principles of drawing and anatomy, but you will also learn how to move objects in space, via a 3d or 2d world. Fundamentals are a must. I think that once you get a taste for what animation itself is really like, you can decide from there whether you still want to illustrate or not. Be warned, animation is harcore. Not alot of time for extra things other than the "assignment" at hand. Hope I'm making sense. Good luck.

Thanks