Thanks

Question What would it take for you to do free work???

Honestly,

Think about this now, after the initial excitement, promises, blah blah, what would it take for you to go pro bono on a long term project and actually stick with it??

I think we can all agree that we have been asked to work for free, for the greater good of it becomming something huge yadadaadada. But what if? Is it just faith in the guys you are working with, the potential of you seriously benefiting financially, or it just being a sweet project to work on?

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,308 Times in 307 Posts
    I've done a number of free projects and really none of them turned out as I originally hoped. This last one however took the cake. I don't think I need to go into it but let's just say that I've learned to value my time and work a little more. Honestly, I'm a full-time student with tuition and other expenses and I do not have the time to do work for free. You don't hire a plumber and offer to pay him only by "putting in a good word" with other people who have leaky pipes. You pay him fairly according to his expenses and time he invested to get the job done. Even the bad ones get paid.

Mike C said something similar a while back and I know that some people can respond and say with some validity that there's good experience to be gained. I'm not saying there isn't. I'm simply saying that at this point, I personally, with my own expenses and full acedemic plate, can not afford to make any serious investment of my time without something to show for it.
    Last edited by N D Hill; September 26th, 2004 at 08:29 PM.

On the fringes of "acceptable" observation and commentary.
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Presence
    Honestly,

Think about this now, after the initial excitement, promises, blah blah, what would it take for you to go pro bono on a long term project and actually stick with it??