Hi guys,

I need some help and advice on what to do/ where to go next. (Hope this is the right place to ask this...)

TL; DR version:
( Click to show/hide )
Recent grad has tried to teach self character animation and software; needs more education and experience to become proficient in Flash, After Effects, Maya, Character Animation to be hired by a studio. What to do? Where to go next? Advice? Suggestions? THANKS!

I graduated from a four year art school a little more than 2 years ago. The college I attended, their animation program was new at the time so, did not properly teach Flash, Maya, or After Effects. Also, didn't cover character animation. In that time, I've worked on a couple freelance projects and mostly spent time trying to fill in the gaps my education left. I used what I could find on YouTube and on Lynda.com. But a video only helps so much. For instance, it doesn't give feedback.

I feel I've improved, but I still have a ways to go. I can get around in Flash (my strongest program outside of PS or Premiere/ Final Cut) but the idea of puppets still baffles me, at this time I’m unable to use them properly. No one has shown or taught me how. When I use Flash it’s usually a combination of symbols (for the head, mouths, etc) and frame by frame (for everything else). Correct me if I'm wrong, but in my experience that’s not what small studios are looking for.

What I hope to do is work for a studio on 2D character animation shows or commercials animating in Flash, Toon Boom, or After Effects. But, I am open to using 3D as well, though not my first choice. (I still need to become more adept at modeling, rigging, and skinning.)