Art: Tips for developing a steady hand?

View testimonialsView Artwork
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Question Tips for developing a steady hand?

I have a really difficult time keeping my hand still while I draw. I'm one of those eraser and paintover freaks, because my images seem to lack confidence. I was wondering if anyone had any techniques for learning how to draw long steady lines?

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Practice sketching with a ballpoint pen. There's no going back if you don't get it right, plus the cheap pen makes it seem like, if you do mess up, it's not a huge loss.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    in my family we have a problem. on my mother's side they all have a tremor. so bad they have to take medicine to steady their hands. being an artist, i was naturally worried it would affect me and when i turned sixteen and my hand started shaking i was extremely dismayed. well, it hasn't caused too much trouble as of yet, but one thing i will say that helps me steady my lines and brings much more confidence (because it is forced) to my art work is to hold the pen/pencil far from the tip. if you hold it near the back it gives you a greater sweep in your strokes which is nice, but it also allows you to have much more freedom and variation of marks. plus you can always go back later and tighten things up.

just my thoughts

-q

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    this depends on the time of course, but if you're drawing slowly and carefully, a little trick I do is to sometimes hold my breath for the time my pen/cil is on the paper. its a hangover from photography, probably not for all, but it works for me...well until I get uncomfortable holding my breath!