Thanks

Art Colleges: Where do I look, what do I do!? I don't want to starve!

Oh god oh god oh god.

I'm a senior in highschool now...

But a year from now I'll be off to College...
    But what!? WHAT DO I DO!?
    I have an idea, not really though. I've got so far in mind...
    Rhode Island School of Design (RISD)
    School of the Art Institute of Chicago

Something somewhat near the East coast as right now I live in northern VA.
    What do I want to do? Well, my dream of dreams would be to do my own comic (though I'll probably starve...). My dream would be to do the designs for videogames.
    Animation also seems interesting, but something I have no experience in.

I'm just looking for recommendations and maybe some sage wisdom from experienced elders of this forum for a young padawan-squire-apprentice-grasshopper-student.

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    the second college thread posted in the wrong forum in a day....

anyways,

Go to SAIC man!
    I'm going there in a year as well (attending the National Portfolio Day on Nov 14 at SAIC)

Get a portfolio together of life figure drawings, portraits, and still lifes using a variety of mediums. That's what I'm doing

Thanks
    schoolis pointless for becoming a concept artist, teach urself
    Nathan Campbells 3 steps to drawing like a pro, 1. Sketch 2. shade. 3. highlights and ur done

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by gasmask
    schoolis pointless for becoming a concept artist, teach urself
    coming from a guy going to school...

from personal experience, I cannot recommend an Art Institute. However, one of the most badass artists I've ever had the priviledge to meet went to RISD...and they've got a reputation for excellence as far as I know...

Thanks
    SAIC isn't part of the AI schools! There's another school (Illinois Institute of Art) is the AI school in Chicago. SAIC (School of the Art Insitute of Chicago) IS NOT connected with the AI schools! (its confusing)