pixelation

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: pixelation

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

pixelation

I am new to painter 7. I am giving it a try and for some reason the end results look to pixelated what am i doing wrong how do i know what size to make the canvas and make the the colors look smooth? Oh yeah i am using it with a Wacom intous 1 6x8.

thnxz
    Amador
    ________
    cheap vaporizers

Last edited by AmadorL; January 19th, 2011 at 09:43 AM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Hi,

I usually work at 300 ppi (pixels per inch) so if I want to print the image it will have good visual quality.

File > New, enter the number of inches for Width and Height that you want to print, then in the Resolution field, type 300 (ppi).

If you haven't printed your image, you might do that to see if it's actually pixelated or if it's a display problem that some painter users have reported when they zoom out.

If you're working an image to be used on the Web, 72 ppi is OK for the final image. Still, I almost always work at 300 ppi, save the finished image in Painter's RIFF format, then use Canvas > Resize to change the Resolution to 72 ppi and save it as a High Quality JPG (or I do it in Fireworks where I can get a better result).

If you want to know what print size you'll get when your image dimensions are in pixels, and the Resolution is 300 ppi use this example (for instance):

2400 x 3000 pixels at 300 ppi = 8 x 10 inches at 300 ppi

because:

2400 pixels divided by 300 ppi = 8 inches (the width)

and...

3000 pixels divided by 300 ppi = 10 inches (the height)