Thanks

Please, won't you help the children?

Quick introductions, I'm a middle school art teacher, 6th through 8th grade. I cover all the fun basics and am running my class primarily as a studio art class. The kids get to do a bunch of drawing (budgets don't go very far and drawing is cheap), painting and some little printing and I try to incorporate an artist or group of artists that apply to the lessons if possible. What I'm hoping to get from everyone here is a few hints as to what you would have liked to see in art when you were at that age. I'm looking for novel ideas, as things that stand out reach their interest more than more mediocre skill building exercises like still life drawing for example. I'm always on the lookout for interesting ideas so if anyone would like to throw some ideas my way, keep in mind that the kids are hormone-soaked 11 to 13 year olds, so hinting at nude life drawing doesn't really help.
    As Lord Cardigan said to the Light Brigade, "Just canter down the valley toward Balaklava, fellows. Nothing to worry about." -W.E.B. Griffin

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    well... first off, thanks and congratulations for being so open minded as to actually ask for help from students themselves (ca.org).

i can't stress this enough, creativity is key, but so are basics... painting/abstract is fun at an early age but can often be the crutch that students will fall back on the older they get (i.e. forget the basics if someone says all of your colors and ideas are great).