Is using the Smeary Round brush in Painter "cheating"?

View testimonialsView Artwork
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

I'm new to color, and to Painter (I'm using classic).

This is the first thing I've done that actually looks like it might turn out OK, but the more I tried to color, the more striated it looked:

Looking at the brushes I had available (trying to find a Blend or Smudge) I found the Smeary Round, and am fairly pleased with the result:

I realize some of the depth was lost, but I figure I can bring that out with some touching up.

My question is: Am I "cheating" by smudging? Is the Smeary brush a crutch, retarding people from properly applying color and brushstroke theories? Or a legitimate tool, used to soften edges of brush strokes like can be done with traditional media?

I ask because as a beginner, I don't want to learn with sloppy practices.

"It is impossible to imagine Goethe or Beethoven being good at billiards or golf." -- H. L. Mencken

"If there is anything the nonconformist hates worse than a conformist, it's another nonconformist who doesn't conform to the prevailing standard of nonconformity." -- Bill Vaughan
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    On an attack ship on fire, off the shoulder of Orion....
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I just took a Painter class 2 quarters ago, and half of the class was properly setting up brushes specifically for blending, and blending techniques. So no, using a brush to blend colors together is not cheating. Try modifying a large chalk brush to use as a blender, I found it to have the best results.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    People love painter for its smearing/smudging capabilities. There are many ways people blend using traditional painting tools--I just think it's a matter of style choice.