manimaj - Composition 1.1

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: manimaj - Composition 1.1

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

manimaj - Composition 1.1

Hi,

I stumbled upon this workshop by accident while searching for art classes and thought the formula was great. This is my first time on a forum but I really wanted to give it a shot. This is my first study, Rocks at Nahant by William Stanley Haseltine.

Name:  manimaj_composition1.1_01.jpg
Views: 190
Size:  253.0 KB

Unfortunately, I don't believe I have captured my main observation which is the continuity. The line created by the rocks at the bottom left leading into the painting is stopped by the curve coming from the top of the rocks on the right, leading to the 2 figures. It is also aligned with the main wave coming from the direct opposite...I think this helps sell the impact of the wave. I spent most of my one hour trying to get the right proportions but I realize it would have been much easier (and more accurate) if I had started with the main continuity lines. I hope I posted this properly.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Hi,

Here is my second study, Venetian Interior (I believe) by John Singer Sargent.

Name:  manimaj_composition1.1_02.jpg
Views: 118
Size:  194.3 KB

I really like the lighting in this image. I first noticed the rhythm created with all the varied rectangular shapes, mainly the frames on the left wall. I think this also ties into the variety and repetition of all the various rectangles like the cabinets and doors. I also like how he used economy (am I wording it right?) around the main figures on the floor and walls, even on the black sweaters of the figures, to contrast the detailed dresses, which seem to be the focal point.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Hi,