Airi Kervinen - Composition 1.1

View testimonialsView Artwork

Thread: Airi Kervinen - Composition 1.1

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Airi Kervinen - Composition 1.1

Hello,

This is my first time posting on this website after lurking around for a bit. I really wanted to try out this levelup challenge, it seemed interesting and I needed a source of motivation to paint more often. I'm currently finishing my last year in high school, so I don't know how active I can be (with matriculation exams coming up, uh oh). Anyway, here's my first study!

Name:  aino triptych.png
Views: 195
Size:  183.4 KB

1. I chose Akseli Gallen-Kallela's third painting from The Aino Triptych because I thought it would be interesting to study art from my homeland. I especially like the balance in the painting. The woman takes up quite a bit of the composition, but still the figure in the back balances out the painting, making it pleasant for the eyes. The balance has been achieved by several elements, such as the value range. The elements in the foreground are darker, whereas the elements in the background are much lighter in values. Also things such as the tree and the clouds balance out the composition.

As I was painting I realized I went over the time limit, it took me about 2-3 hours to do this one. I'll try to limit the amount of time I use next time. Some of the edges in my study are also a bit too sharp, and some values are a bit off--but I'm sure that if I do this exercise regularly, I'll get more accustomed to "eyeballing" things more accurately!

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Here's study no. 2:
    Name:  portrait of a girl.png
Views: 58
Size:  333.7 KB

Okay first of all I had some problems with this one--I really had trouble with painting the eyes. I wasn't able to get that fuzzy look they have in the original.