My very first concept art piece

View testimonialsView Artwork
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

My very first concept art piece

Hi everyone. I hope you are well.

I was told about this site by the tutors on the illustration and concept art course I will be starting in September. So I thought I would get involved.

I am a newb to concept art and I have attached my very first piece and was wondering if you would be kind enough to crit what I have done. I would really appreciate it.

It is part of my summer prep work. I wanted to create a piece called invasion.

I would love to hear your thoughts.

Have a great day.

Pete

Third-Concept2.png

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I like the contrast between the warm bottom and the cool green on the top. Some composition critiques, I put in red circles below were some forms just touch others, forming tangents. There's not enough information on which overlaps which so it would work best if you overlapped these things or made them not touch at all. Similar to the way you have the tube wrapping around the bottom of the ship, this creates a lot of depth that eliminating tangents would help follow through with. I added the green circle because this area isn't conveyed as strongly as it could either. The spikes on the right are overlapping on and broken by the tube, which is great for defining space. The 3 on the left should be shown before or behind the tube OR add detail to bring forward or with some atmosphere infront to push them backward. Pretty nice otherwise. The bottom half has wonderful description of space.

invasion-creativemonkey.jpg

Last edited by NicoleWG; August 14th, 2014 at 09:50 PM. Reason: typo
    Love means never having to say "you're a special snowflake."

Take a look at my sketchbook
    And my blog

Thanks
    Follows
    Following