Village composition

View testimonialsView Artwork
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Village composition

Hi! I'm trying to do some environments for a change. I'm not very good at them. With this one, I'm trying to draw some sort of village. Not sure what the story or setting is, honestly. Hopefully I'll figure that out at some point. Well, I guess the most important thing is composition, so does anyone have any crits on how I've put this line drawing together? Thanks!

Name:  ahahh 3d ka veel copy.JPG
Views: 338
Size:  279.6 KB

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    To be honest I cant find anything wrong with it, its just too far head of me. But what I will say is that the poses of the 2 figures seem to be conflicting. The guy in the foreground looks like hes in a standoff type pose, sword drawn, wide stance, where as the guy standing outside the house looks like hes maybe waiting for something because if he was gunna have a standoff with someone why would he choose right outside his house? Perhaps the foreground guy is a traveler returning home? I dunno maybe its a dumb idea lol.

Composition wise I like the way the ledge leads the eye to the far figure, but I think you can push that idea further with other surrounding objects once you get a good idea of whats happening. Really digging this though, will be cool to see where it goes.

"The whole point of practice is to do it until you can do it right." - dpaint

DA

Sketch Book

4. The Following User Says Thank You to element1988 For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Thanks! Good ideas both

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Hey, cool image z01ks! Here are a couple of comments and suggestions I have.