Setting up a schedule?

View testimonialsView Artwork
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Setting up a schedule?

I'm a college student and I've been drawing somewhat seriously and self teaching myself for about half a year now. I'm seeing some progress, but nothing huge. I want to make a daily schedule of what I'm going to draw during the course of the day. Can anyone give me some pointers?
    I was thinking along the lines of:
    Mondays - Line, proportion, shapes
    Tuesdays - Construction and gesture
    Wednesdays - Follow up with anatomy from Tuesday
    Thursdays - Perspective and Composition
    Friday - Value and color (in the future)
    Saturday/Sunday - Rest or creative works and extra study.
    I still consider myself a complete beginner still trying to solidify my fundamentals whilst trying to maintain an anime like style.
    Any tips would be greatly appreciated!

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Thanked 2,396 Times in 1,483 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    I think that is a bad idea. You cannot practice construction without perspective, you cannot practice composition without proportions and value, etc. - in short, you cannot practice an isolated thing. Any drawing includes all of what you listed, and you shouldn't shoehorn it into an exercise in single element.

Set up a still life with a single artificial light source, and draw it, paying attention to line, proportion, shapes, construction, gesture, perspective, composition, value and color. Ideally, everything you draw should be an exercise in fundamental skills.

Thanks
    Thanked 1,234 Times in 795 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    Quote Originally Posted by arenhaus View Post
    You cannot practice construction without perspective, you cannot practice composition without proportions and value, etc. - in short, you cannot practice an isolated thing.