Tiger

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Tiger

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Red face Tiger

My first digital painting that I'm fairly proud of. I'm pretty new to photoshop and digital artwork in general. Just let me know what you think

Name:  Tiger.jpg
Views: 321
Size:  1.24 MB

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I think that it is a good drawing but a poor painting. Besides the stripe pattern and the placement of the features there is almost nothing to suggest the form. Don't get distracted by the details and the patterns and think of the basic shapes.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Thanks for the advice, can you clarify a bit though? Do you mean the muscle structure? and if so how would I go about doing that?

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    You might take the photo and adjust it to black and white to see the forms better or do a greyscale rendition in pencil or charcoal. One thing that seems off to me is under the chin. There would be shadow indicating the throat is casting a shadow on the chest below. You've done it in a sort of blue grey. It isn't dark enough to indicate a shadow, it just looks you used white in one area and blue grey in another -- it doesn't indicate light and shadow/form. I don't know that much about digital painting. But in oil paint, no white is flat white, and if for example, your white has a pink (red) tint, your shadow area would be a contrasting color, some mix of red, white and green -- you have to look up color theory as applies to digital painting. There's a hundred youtube videos on digital painting. Look up "how to paint a tiger."