Drawing grass and clouds

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Drawing grass and clouds

Hi!
    Recently, I wanted to learn how to draw so I bought this book called "drawing for the absolute beginner a clear & easy guide to successful drawing" (mods, if this book not allowed here please just erase the name and not the whole post).

In the book, there were several instructions about how to draw clouds (about 1 small paragraph) and almost no explanation of how to draw grass beside "making straight strokes"

======

TL;DR - So my question is, how do you draw beautiful grass and nice looking clouds?

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    From life, go out everyday and for 30 min to one hour try do draw clouds and grass. Summer clouds are super fun to draw from life. You would be looking at value shifts and edges primarily. Whatever you do it is imperative to draw from life, it would do you more good than any recommendation you get here.

There's nothing you can't be if you only Smurf hard enough!
    - PAPA SMURF

Sketchbook

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I concur with Rabdi. Do not learn this stuff for my books or video tutorials. Why?? There are many reasons. I will give you three:

1. Nature is very very subtle and the tiniest of lighting differences can change the colours of objects. Grass is not simply green or yellow, rather it could be a mix of many colours. Likewise the form of the grass is also infinite and thus can not be truly taught in a book. You need to build up you visual library by painting from nature and doing master studies.