How does this look?

View testimonialsView Artwork
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

How does this look?

Hey,

I'm new to conceptart.org, so I apologise if I'm posting this in the wrong area.

This is a painting based on a reference image that took me over an hour to complete. I'm having trouble figuring out exactly what's "wrong" with it. A little help would be greatly appreciated.

Attached Images Attached Images    
    Last edited by Jander; July 23rd, 2014 at 02:41 PM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    The main thing that's wrong is that the lips are out of perspective. They're drawn more like they're facing towards the viewer, whereas they should be pointing more away, off to the right.

The shape of lips in perspective is actually kinda complicated. See the section Minor Planes in Proko's How to Draw Lips tutorial for an exaggerated version, showing and explaining overlap (and the rest of the tutorial for a better sense of lips in general).

There's also some odd shadows that e.g. indicate indentation when I'm guessing there isn't any (between the eyebrows/upper part of nose -- reads a little more like dirt because you use black to make that shadow), which suggests you're not super familiar with facial structure (like planes of the face, Reilly method, facial anatomy and perspective, etc.), so that might be worth studying up on.

Even if you're just copying a reference photo, it's still useful to have a good understanding of the structure you're copying. Makes it faster to see and use the information in the reference photo, especially if some part of the photo is unclear or distorted.
    Plus, building up a drawing from a reference photo like you would do it for an imaginative drawing (i.e. structurally) I'd guess is good practise (depending what you want to practise).

Sketchbook | Composition tutorial