How am I supposed to get to the next level?

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

How am I supposed to get to the next level?

Hello everyone. First things first, I'm new here and quite frankly I was rather intimidated about joining this site since I've seen a lot of amazing stuff here. But I've really started to struggle with drawing lately and I don't think places like DA or WetCanvas will give me the advice that I'm seeking...

First some background: I started drawing again in December 2012 after not having drawn actively for nearly 10 years. Up till this year I've been jumping between mediums and styles like a headless monkey. Now that I've managed to settle with my desired mediums and the style I want to stick with (cartoony, Disnyish style) I've suddenly hit a wall with the drawing itself.

Today I went out for a bike ride with my sketch book. I can draw stuff like flowers, trees and stuff relatively easy. Even my very quick landscape sketches look at least a little what they're supposed to...but whenever I try to draw animals, the thing I actually want to learn how to draw better, I suddenly feel like I lose my ability to draw. Animals and monsters are something I've drawn since I'm a kid but suddenly they're the things I can't draw.

Most of the early stuff in my DA profile was drawn without reference. That was nearly 2 years ago. But now, suddenly, I feel like I can't even draw worth that anymore.

I look at a blank sheet on my sketch book and come up with nothing. I've been doing some "master studies" lately from animation production sheets. I do really well with them. And you'd think it would teach me something about construction drawing but then when I try to draw a cute kitten from my head I suddenly get nothing.