Pipermaru - Composition 1.1

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Pipermaru - Composition 1.1

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Pipermaru - Composition 1.1

Hi, First time poster here and a long time fan of the forum. Finally decided to join this great adventure to levelup as an artist. I work full-time as a 3D artist in game company and always wanted to do painting,illustration or concept. I am a father of a 3 years old boy and at the moment I'm also learning human anatomy in Zbrush (work related). So my progress will be slow and joining this levelup will always be my motivation to keep me to do painting. Thank you for doing this !

1.NC Wyeth-Captain Nemo. First time doing this great masters study. I choose this painting because I really like how Wyeth playing with the ideas of balance. Wyeth, put the captain in the middle of the composition, it make him look strong and powerful but Wyeth paint him as an old man and he looks weak, you can see it from the skinny hand, the skinny face and to add more the fluffy big cushion that he sat on.

I have fun doing this study and frustration a long the way, frustrated to get the values and shapes correctly.It took me around 5 to 6 hours(on and off) to do this and most of the time trying to fix to get the shapes right. I know that you mention to do the study in 1 hour but when I reached 1 hour time my painting was still very very rough and a lot of the values and shapes are not place correctly. So I got questions, Should I continue doing this ? or try to strict myself to do 1 hour painting? for this assignments which one will benefits me more ?

Name:  01_NCWyeth_Study_CaptNemo_Pipermaru.jpg
Views: 317
Size:  231.9 KB

again many thanks for doing this ! and please excuse my english

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following