Road to Fantasia

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Road to Fantasia

Painting I did today in about 4-5 hours in Photoshop. Critique and slay away.

Here's a speedpaint of it too: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HHHbSeGB-dg

Name:  Jared Hudson - Road to Fantasia.jpg
Views: 197
Size:  303.1 KB

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I can't really offer a professional opinion since I'm still a novice myself, so what follows is more of an opinion and less of a clear-cut 'do this'. ^^

One thing that immediately stood out to me was the saturation. The vividness is a little overwhelming. There isn't really a clear resting point for the eye because all the colors are screaming 'look at me, I'm important!' It might be beneficial to have some areas that are a little more washed-out. This will help direct the eye to the parts of the image that are still full saturation.

I would also experiment with using colors other than black for the shadows. The black looks unnecessarily harsh and at odds with the bright colors. Sometimes in real life the shadows are nearly black, but surface details can usually be seen. Because the viewer is to some extent looking directly at the sun, there should also be more fuzziness or halo around the elements that cross it. For example, in this photo, you can see how the tree branches that 'cover' the sun are nearly invisible in its glow, and there's a heavy loss of detail on the branches nearest the light.