Tosmo - Composition 1.1

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Tosmo - Composition 1.1

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Tosmo - Composition 1.1

If your going to start anywhere with master studies, you might as well start with NC Wyeth

This is my first time doing master studies, and I got to admit I found it very enjoyable. On the first one I did, I was happily working away thinking to myself "this is easy", until I realized I was almost an hour in already. From there on I realized just how fast the hour can go by. Look at them afterwards, I can tell I need a lot of work on my value and comp. Advise and critique wanted.

1. (Wyeth) What I noticed about this work, is how Wyeth uses the atmosphere to lead the eye by using the cannon smoke to frame his main subject, and then push his tertiary read into the background. Similarly, this is also use with light against dark value with the secondary read or seaman operating the can, who wears stripy high contrast shirt against a dark background.
    Name:  Picture4.jpg
Views: 186
Size:  208.1 KB

2. (Sargent) I wanted to do a study of a portrait of someone prestigious, a military leader, or royalty. Studying Sargent, I learned quite a bit about emphasis, and the economy of painting. Here detail seems to radiate outward from the eyes. There is also rhythm between the set up of the metal and ribbons on the subject body and his over all pose. However, I do wish could have the over all expression more accurately.
    Name:  Frederick_Sleigh_Roberts,_1st_Earl_Roberts_by_John_Singer_Sargent.jpg
Views: 169
Size:  197.6 KB