Page 1 of 13 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... LastLast

Thread: Kuroro's Sketchbook

Thanks

Kuroro's Sketchbook

Hello everyone! I've been drawing for about two years now, but lately I don't feel like I'm improving much and that's why I've decided to sign up so critiques are welcome
    From now on I'll try to post on a weekly basis pretty much everything I draw.
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by Kuroro; December 21st, 2014 at 02:54 PM. Reason: Uploaded new thumbnail
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Here's what I drew today

Thanks
    These are the things I drew today

Thanks
    Lately I don't really have a lot of free time so I'm not drawing as much as I'd like to, anyway today I did these.

Thanks
    Ops, I forgot to post yesterday

Thanks
    Your hand studies and blocked shapes are quite good!

One thing I'm noticing with a lot of the more rendered gesture studies is that they seem stiff. The outlines are clean but they don't have much motion and the form seems incomplete. Many of the line-and-joint ones seem a bit more free-flowing. When drawing the base sketch, perhaps use more exaggerated curves to suggest motion and then build the form off that.

I found this video was helpful for me: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eJWLaDSNBAI

I would also suggest doing some studies of arms. To my eye, your grasp of leg shape is pretty good. The arms, in comparison, seem less formed. (I should take my own advice, arms are the bane of my drawings...tricky bone structures! Grr).

8. The Following User Says Thank You to Beakyree For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Beakyree View Post
    Your hand studies and blocked shapes are quite good!