New in concept arts

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

New in concept arts

Hi,
    im new in concept arts and in drawing in general want to get some advice how to get started in all this drawing and concept art thing plz give me any usful infomartion
    im able and ready to learn anything that will keep me going I want to know how to start and where to start including pencil control and anything even things that cost money thank you very much=]

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Hi there,

I suppose I would be considered "relatively new" to all of this myself, but I can certainly suggest a few places to start...

first, pencil control is both perplexingly difficult and ridiculously easy. It's about mileage. Spending enough time using a pencil/brush/stylus will eventually lead to you to confidence with the suggested tool. There are, however, a few things some artists do as warm-ups to help them loosen up and find their rhythm (for lack of a better term i suppose).

This is a fantastic tutorial by Sycra on youtube concerning various traditional techniques such as but not limited to how to hold the pencil, how to sketch, sharpen, etc.

I highly recommend graphite or charcoal to start practicing with as they are forgiving, cheap, and portable.

Second, we should go over what to draw, and perhaps more importantly how to draw...

Let's start with what to draw. As a beginner it's not so much about what as it is about just doing it and doing it correctly. If I were teaching a class with all beginners, I would have a couple of everyday objects set up from the the dollar store, painted in a grey matte paint and strongly lit from a single directional spotlight.(Name:  blogger-image--1686858247.jpg
Views: 140
Size:  133.2 KB