Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Pushing speed paints further ?

Name:  Untitled-1.jpg
Views: 239
Size:  1.08 MB

I was wondering how can I push my speed paints further ? This is bad. The idea is generally there but I want to be able to push these further. I'm assuming that pushing perspective will help quite a bit. but I want to get that very interesting grip that keeps the eye interested... I want there to be more detail but I don't want the detail to be very...messy and out of order? It's a speed paint I know but there is something about this that is entirely off. The figure isn't all the captivating either...

The entire thing took about an hour and thirty minutes.

Thanks for reading !

Last edited by ChaseNNN; May 29th, 2014 at 12:11 AM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I'm no expert...but by the looks of things you've relied too much on textures too early. I think it would be better to use a single brush of high opacity for the entire painting, focusing on values and composition rather than too much colour and texture. You say you want detail but i'm afraid with speedpaints you can't really do that until you've got the basic feel of the painting down.

My advice is to do thumbnails, references from photos that have the same atmosphere you're trying to create. Only spend...15-30 minutes on each, doing as many as you can so you don't get over attached to them and start blocking in detail too early. When you have a whole bunch of them, choose one to put detail into, but ONLY once you've sorted the perspective and composition, possibly using the guys at CA to give you a hand. Hopefully after a few rounds of this you will notice an improvement.

My CA sketchbook- Please help with some critique!

Thanks
    Follows
    Following