Miles to go before I....paint good. Critiques/tips/criticisms please!

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Miles to go before I....paint good. Critiques/tips/criticisms please!

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Miles to go before I....paint good. Critiques/tips/criticisms please!

Some context: I used to spend a lot of time here years ago, taking my first shaky steps away from just being a guy who could draw well to someone who could confidently paint and concept imagined subject matter. Then I landed a storyboarding gig, and let's just say that getting paid well to churn out sketches stopped my artistic progress dead in its tracks. So here I am, 7 years later, at basically the same level. This time I'm sticking with it.

This is my first attempt at a finished painting. The challenge I gave myself was to have no lines, have everything completely from imagination, and light it and color it in a halfway convincing way. I definitely have a ways to go.

I am still, as we speak, practicing light and shadow (my weakness) and trying to understand more about how to successfully use color - so these are the things that I'd like to focus on here. But really, any tips, weak points, really just any thoughts that anyone has that I can use to make my next painting better are completely welcome and much, much appreciated.

-Brad

Name:  Triceratops Study Color Final.jpg
Views: 319
Size:  226.1 KB

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following