Fighters. A bulletin cover.

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Fighters. A bulletin cover.

Hello!

I have been asked to do cover art for the members bulletin of a local group of medieval reenacters.

I'm not a frequent poster here and I'm not as a frequent in my painting as I wish either. But conceptart.org has been very helpful and inspiring a few times before. So I thought maybe I'd post my progress here and see if anyone finds it interesting or has any comments or anything along the way.

I don't have much time. It needs to be finished last of may, and I'm currently studying didactics and taking care of my new born at the same time, witch takes allot of my time. Well .. we'll just see how it goes.

Here's a first sketch based on a photo I took at the last local fighting event.

---------------------------------------------------------------
    Finished. Final version:

Name:  fighters8_color_oouah.jpg
Views: 79
Size:  122.0 KB

Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by oouah; May 31st, 2014 at 08:56 PM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Thanked 5,477 Times in 3,686 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    The position of the sword held aloft looks awkward. Maybe make the angle more upright, making an arc, which would help the composition.

4. The Following User Says Thank You to Black Spot For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Yay, the forum's up again. So here's an update.

Name:  fighters2_sketch&grayBlock_oouah.jpg
Views: 16
Size:  73.3 KB

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Had some fun adding a little more detail to the sketch.

Name:  fighters3_sketchGrayBlock_oouah.png
Views: 164
Size:  145.7 KB

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I suggest you use some dynamic diagonals...

Grinnikend door het leven...

Thanks
    Follows