General Environment Critique

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: General Environment Critique

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

General Environment Critique

Name:  10003311_10203360607636976_1615469199545044296_n.jpg
Views: 152
Size:  53.4 KBAlright guys, this is my first critique. I am new to digital art. Any thoughts are appreciated, but because I know many of you do not like vague posts here are some guiding thoughts:

Conceptually, I was locked into the lantern thing, because I like to give myself elements to work around. Because I have had commissioned projects where I have to do concept art for a video game, board game, or novel title. I feel that the composition is weak because of a lack of a good focal point... fix? I also had trouble balancing how much detail to use. Balancing between realistic (black silhouettes) and cartoon (everything in detail). like in these two examples:

Realistic:
    http://images.travelpod.com/tw_slide...halong-bay.jpg

This is realistic, silhouettes.

Cartoon:
    http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2051/...0f4fd391_m.jpg

Or this one ^^ where everything is in detail, but you really don't come across that in real life. In particular with the mountains and villages that the lanterns are coming out of. I went with detail on the mountains and silhouettes on the village. Good choice? What would you change. Also, I think the villages are underdone and uninteresting, but I don't know how to change that without making it look very cartoony. Also, I realized thanks to another artist the horizon is too harsh and it looks like the boat is about to go over a waterfall, but I've seen real life examples of that. Is there anything else like that you could tear apart for me?

I'm new, so it's not very good and any help means a lot. Thanks!

Sorry, had trouble with the uploader.

Last edited by Rmetzger93; May 11th, 2014 at 11:03 PM.