New user, critique me?

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

New user, critique me?

Hey, I've been lurking for a couple of years, figured I'd start posting some work for critique or whatever. I'm pretty much entirely self taught and I've only been working digitally for a couple of months, so any advice would be appreciated.

Figured I'd open with these True Detective pieces I did over the weekend, let me know what you think.

Name:  10154211_10203654640794917_563794800848098289_n.jpg
Views: 418
Size:  43.3 KB

Name:  10275971_10203638067700600_7556507776146105168_n.jpg
Views: 389
Size:  59.4 KB

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Hi There! Nice color and anatomy. The main issues I'm seeing are an inconsistency between sharp and soft areas, and the line work seems to be hindering you instead of helping. Now that I look twice, the sharp areas seem to be created by linework (like in the cornea of the first image).

I would forgo the linework completely, since your strengths seem to come out with more modulation anyway (run with what you're good at!). And while there are several artists that use both linework and depth/realistic form, there are few who do it well.

If, on the other hand, you want to continue working with line, I would vary the line weight a bit more and color it properly (more than just one color).

4. The Following User Says Thank You to karipaints For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I like your colours, but feel you are exaggerating effects like sub-surface scattering and reflective light, as you did in the red glowing nose and transparent ear of #1. You got the idea, just subtle it down here and there.

Grinnikend door het leven...

6. The Following User Says Thank You to eezacque For This Useful Post:

Thanks