could use some suggestions/critiques.

Join 500,000+ artists on ConceptArt.Org.

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks

could use some suggestions/critiques.

I have done a study based on Loomis' concepts, want to know if i'm heading in the right direction. This is just a quick 1 hour doodle, but I did try my best at shading the face.

Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by HowDoIArt; May 7th, 2014 at 09:30 PM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    I just wanna make sure... Is that supposed to be a Hitmonlee?

I don't think the foreshortening on the left (his right) leg is working. It also looks kinda noodly :/

I'm no anatomy expert, but at a glance, his abdomen looks a little short.

Even though there's no "head" on this figure per se, did you draw a head anyway before constructing the rest of the body? Even without a head, all proportions should still be relative to some kind of head size.

Visit my sketchbook or my deviantArt!

Thanks
    Thanked 5,452 Times in 3,664 Posts
    When you say you don't know if you're heading in the right direction, it might be an idea to tell us which direction that is. We're not mind readers.

Thanks
    I think that if you're going to be studying anatomy from Loomis's work then drawing a realistic pokemon is not the right approach. The anatomy is off in places and the eyes are rendered as if they were in a skull and not on a fantastical creature that has only eyes in it's chest. It really triggers a weird "uncanny valley" feel and I immediately see everything wrong with it.