dens - Composition 1.1

View testimonialsView Artwork

Thread: dens - Composition 1.1

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

dens - Composition 1.1

Hi everyone, hi Jason.

Just bought Level Up yesterday and super keen to get stuck in as its exactly what I've been looking for in terms of self motivated but structured study at this period in my life.

Short bio. I'm 21 and an aspiring student of art. I completed a diploma of fine arts last year but due to circumstances am not able to continue at this present moment to a adv dip / degree etc.

More comfortable in traditional so looking to get my hands real dirty in digital and get a wrestle on this wacom tablet, as we all are.

lets do it!

Here's #1:

Almeida Junior - Saudade (Longing)

One hour.

Name:  1_small.jpg
Views: 217
Size:  151.3 KB

So what I really love about this painting is the use of verticals within the tall format which i think help let the eye rest on the emphasis and feel calm. If the lines running in the upper portion where horizontal I think it would have a very different experience.

I can see that the main shapes of the background form a cross leading us to the face of the subject. I also really enjoy the economy within this painting especially alongside the variety of detail within the seemingly simple areas of brick and floor, creating visual interest in these areas for the painting that has relatively few points of main interest.

Last edited by dens; April 25th, 2014 at 06:49 AM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Just a couple of questions and observations:

What size should I be working at? During work I found it hard to get into the details at the level I was working at so i decided to scale up a bit to around 1000 px high. I know that its not best to focus on the details for this assignment but I thought I might ask in either case.