Kauai Woman (help w/ Alphonse Mucha style flow & color)

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

I need this to be stellar, it is going to be an 4x8 print for my grandfathers upscale store. The pose and the girl is my favorite picture of my girlfriend.
    I got this far and I want to push it more I have never done this style before. I feel like the flow of the composition is weak. Any suggestions?Name:  Jenisa-Hawaii-4.png
Views: 499
Size:  1.34 MB.
    Name:  Jenisa-Hawaii.png
Views: 409
Size:  397.2 KB

Im not sure if I want to do a decorative motief,

or detail the environment and use cutouts and negative space,

I really like the color here
    Attachment 1954990

I would also like to integrate birds and more exotic flowers

Someone help me get my wheels going again! thanks!

Last edited by Raptor; May 9th, 2014 at 10:38 PM. Reason: new content
    Visit my Portfolio

My Book Illustrations : A Children's book in progress that follows a young Raptor. Take a look, let me know what you think.

Inkblot Robots daily rampage!

~la bonne nuit ma colombe, Oui?
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,494 Times in 744 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    It's looking pretty Mucha-y so far, Raptor. You've got the varying line widths and the Mucha hair.

Your figure is looking solid, too, so don't take this as a criticism, but think of it as you work: the most striking thing about Mucha to me is that, although his figures look like very simple line drawings, every tiny bump and curve of his outline is conveying precise anatomical information. There's a collarbone here, or a fat pad there, or a fleshy bit over here. It's just stunning.

Anyway, don't add anything that takes away from the strong silhouette of the central female figure.