TheSwan - Composition 1.1

View testimonialsView Artwork

Thread: TheSwan - Composition 1.1

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

TheSwan - Composition 1.1

Hey guys, want to give a quick introduction here before I post -
    I work as a VFX artist full time but always had a passion for drawing, and designing characters, video game levels, and illustration. When I went to school initially I didn't have the confidence to attempt traditional drawing and figured I would just learn programs and become a 3D artist. I ended up regretting this decision as I always wanted the skill to bring my visions to life, and just knowing programs like photoshop and maya isn't enough. I assumed I just didnt have the innate talent to draw because I compared myself to the best on the internet. However I changed that view after seeing some artists and hearing how they learned it like any other skill. I was just never properly taught what and how to study art so I assumed it was 'magic' - now I see it like learning math or language, you need to start with foundations and move one step at a time. I tried taking some classes at come colleges but because teachers are paid to pass everyone, I never felt like I was really learning. I've decided to take a path of being self-taught but utilizing as many great information and critiques from good artists, which brings me to taking this Level Up / Start course.

All right, enough about me, onto the art.

Rubens - Prometheus Bound

I chose this piece because I loved the dramatic contrast of his body against the dark landscape, and the almost impossible flowing shapes. I feel with the way Prometheus is flowing down the bottom half of the image gives it a strong sense of his powerlessness and his demise.

I am a big fan of dramatic violent pieces with strong contrast and serious themes which is something I want to see incorporated into my work.

Name:  composition-1.jpg
Views: 297
Size:  102.7 KB

I spent 55 minutes total on it, and the time flew by.