Character design critique ?

View testimonialsView Artwork
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Character design critique ?

Hello, this is my first time posting here and I am looking for a review of my character's design :

Name:  Laïla layers stitched.jpg
Views: 354
Size:  230.6 KB
    Name:  Laïla.jpg
Views: 273
Size:  248.5 KB
    Name:  Laila planet.jpg
Views: 259
Size:  329.0 KB

So, Laïla is at the very beginning of my story a sea captain. She's not really a fighter, more of a strategist, that's why I gave her a limited protection, plus armor and chainmail on a boat are not that great because they're heavy and if you fall into the sea they'll sink you right away. She wears the full outfit on the ground and takes off the chainmail and plate on the boat. Later on, magic is invented and quickly weaponized so armor becomes useless. Her home culture is loosely based on persian culture, so I loosely based some pieces of her costume on persian clothing, particularly her chest plate, with the traditional circular shape, and the pants.

Her second outfit is a court outfit, she creates during the story a powerful commercial empire, so this dress is made to show her power and wealth. That's what I tried to do by putting a lot of pearls on it, because pearls are in that culture (not the one she's from, the one she wants to impress) a sign of wealth because of their rarity. The shape of the dress is based on european fashion from the 1860s (for the shape of the skirt) and the 1890s-1900s (for the shape of the corset). The embroidery is based on Art Nouveau jewelry. This one isn't designed to be practical (it is not) but to impress. I chose the teardrop for a main shape, because it reminds me of those very big pearls you see sometimes, and because it is linked to the sea (drop=water), with her being a sea captain. Pearls are also linked to the sea, and are an important motif in her design.