When to learn to paint

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

When to learn to paint

I've been wanting to learn to paint traditionally for a few years now and have been focusing solely on drawing to get my skills back in shape. My question is how will I know when I am ready to start painting? Is it something that I should do concurrently with drawing? Should I start with a specific medium like pastels or colored pencils before starting with oils? If it means anything, I work in the printing industry as a retoucher so color theory isn't entirely new to me...

Here's a link to my deviant art page to give an idea of where I'm at artistically...

http://www.deviantart.com/?q=brimacx

I've been drawing still-life set-ups in my house and my kids Skylanders figures as my "life" drawing practice since I don't have access to a life drawing class.

Thanks for any advice!

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    You're plenty ready to start painting! You'll want to keep practicing drawing while you learn to paint, but that's true for everyone.

I think when you're just starting, feel free to have fun with it, and don't overthink it. Play around with different mediums and find what you like. Experiment with styles and processes and make lots of mistakes.

I personally found pastels to be a really nice starting point, because they are relatively straightforward. You don't have to worry about mixing colors or the paint drying too quickly. A lot of people seem to like to start with acrylics, but I've had the worst time trying to use them. Just can't get them to work. To each their own.