Struggling to Self-Correct techniques

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

I have been studying art on my own for about 5 years now, and I still find myself struggling with the same things. Value. Form. Strokes. Basically, my self critiques and the critiques of others (when I have the courage to ask) come down to the same thing. My values are wrong (not pushing far enough) my forms don't stand out, they seem blurry or too soft.

With all the books I have read and practices I have done, something is just not clicking. I can not seem to push myself to really add contrast to the values. It always looks wrong to me. I always end up softening hard lines. They always look wrong to me when I try to make them crisp or sure. I am frustrated and at a loss as to how to improve these things, and I have a couple of barriers that I can not overcome.

For one, art books are really hard to come by in English. I am living in Japan and while I can sometimes find said books in Japanese..I can't read them! Paying twice the cost of the book just because of shipping is just not feasible, either. I have a kindle, but all the books that are recommended are not on the kindle yet. There are lots of art books that are on kindle, but I am unsure as to which are good to try and which won't help.

Money is always an issue. I was taking figure drawing classes for a while, but the expense got too much so I had to drop them. I keep waiting to be able to afford them again (they were the cheapest ones but I had to travel to the city) but life isn't giving me the income just yet. :/