Copyright Question
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Copyright Question

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Question Copyright Question

I'm a writer who doesn't draw, and I'm thinking of hiring an illustrator to make some sample character illustrations for a comic book I wrote for submission to publishers.

If I'm going to do this, how can I secure that the character idea will remain mine? For example, let's say I invented Spiderman; I go to an illustrator and I describe the costume and so forth, and he draws it for me. The comic book gets published and the publishers hire a different illustrator, who copies the design of the sample illustration. Won't I run a risk of having the original illustrator sue me for stealing his idea? Is there some kind of contract I can make with the artist? what should it specify?

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    If I remember correctly you can get your character or logo officially copyrighted by the government for less than 50 dollars, I think it gives you a certificate with the copyrighted ideas and if anything legal comes up that should be more proof than you need. Unfortunately I have no idea how to do this, you'll have to search the internet for more information. If you prefer a cheaper method simply stating that you own the character and story in a saved email or photocopied letter might suffice (having them sign or reply to the document would be best). In this way you could specify the details of the agreement too.

FASTIDIOUS SKETCHFIENDS of the FANTASTIC FOURTEENTH ESCHELON
    staylor| inkfish | rodrigo! | ah.heng | maxetormer | bRØk3n_sPiRiT | Max1975 | ZebzFree

TURBOFANATIC

jetpack42 is offline Registered User Level 15 Gladiator: Spartacus' Hoplomachi
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following