TomasBj - Composition 1.1

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: TomasBj - Composition 1.1

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

TomasBj - Composition 1.1

Hi,

I started painting on my free time fairly recently. Without any art education I decided that that I would try my hand with the workshops here and probably continue with the LevelUp! program.

So here's my first master study. Ivan Aivazovsky was a russian master who painted amazing landscapes and seascapes among other things.

With this one I noticed among other things repetition of the domed shape of the mosk in the shape of the light in the sky. Asymmetrical balance with the mosk and the ship on the left. Economy in the almost black shadows with only simple hints of the shapes there.
    Name:  Comp_Aivazovsky1_small.jpg
Views: 488
Size:  62.7 KB

Last edited by TomasBj; March 16th, 2014 at 03:20 AM. Reason: Fixed typos
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Smile Study 2

The second study is of a Finnish master Albert Järnefelt. I selected it mainly because I'm a Finn

I didn't realize that I bit of more I could handle and the hour limited limited the quality of the study.
    I notice among other things the following:
    • He had excellent command of values. With the high values of the fire and the dark of the shadows I would have thought the painting wouldn't read well in gray scale. However each shape is surrounded so that it reads.For example the sky is light and so is the fire. They are separated by dark smoke. The dark figures are mainly surrounded by light fire and vice versa with the light figures.
    • You can find rhythm in the figures. From the front to back two figures, then one, then two, then one.