Agerkvist - Composition 1.1

Join 500,000+ artists on ConceptArt.Org.

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Agerkvist - Composition 1.1

Thanks

Agerkvist - Composition 1.1

I have the following questions:

When doing this study I stuck to the 1 hour limit and obviously I struggled since I'm new at this, but I see many other people here spending much longer on each study. Should I disregard the time limit aswell or just focus on getting faster?

I did this using no grid, guidelines etc. on photoshop thinking those would be crutches I shouldn't be depending on - should I just keep doing that or is some use of lines advicable?

And here's the study:

For my first study I choose Saint Jerome Writing by Caravaggio. I was browsing his paintings and this one stood out to me.

I fell for it because it has a kind of fantasy vibe to it. Old man, heavy dusty books. Jerome reminds me an old wizard hunched over his books, studying the arcane arts, memorizing spells or trying to find the cure for a curse.

Here it is:

Study 1 - Saint Jerome Writing after Caravaggio , 1 hour

Name:  Caravaggio_Saint_Jerome_Writing.jpg
Views: 583
Size:  117.2 KB

There's definately a heavy use of economy here. Basically all we see is Jerome and his books. Oh and of course the ever present skull which supposedly was Jeromes own Memento Mori and a reminder that you don't own things, they own you. Should I feel bad doing this study with digital media then? I'm sure Jerome wouldn't mind, it's for the greater good afterall.

The piece is balanced with lots of value/color in the bottom right and lots of darkness in the top left, with the skull and darks of Jeromes abdomen almost forming a yin yang esque pattern. It's light vs dark in a way. Jerome and his halo on one side and the skull and death on the other.