Thanks

Resources for self-taught artist? Struggle

Hi everyone! I'm new here so I thought I'd give this a shot.

I'm currently studying game development, and I want to become a better artist. Before applying for game dev, I had no art background and I have not taken any art classes. As of now, I've only seriously been drawing for one year and I've been seriously struggling.
    I practice everyday, but the problem is that since I don't have any instructions or formal training, I don't know what to study first or what to draw next. I feel like I'm studying very specific things that aren't helping my art come together.
    I'm really lacking direction and the art classes in my game development program aren't giving me the foundation that I need.

I've been looking into online classes/workshops like Schoolism and I've been searching for good art textbooks, etc. I'm scared to throw my money away, so I would REALLY appreciate if anyone who has either taken the courses or knows of any great art foundation books could help out. Big thanks in advance.

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Thanked 11,435 Times in 2,935 Posts
    Check out the start forums here on www.conceptart.org/forums (just scroll down). There are free online workshops and assignments right there to get you going. Feedback is provided.

JM

4. The Following User Says Thank You to Jason Manley For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Books:
    How to Draw: drawing and sketching objects and environments from your imagination - Scott Robertson: www.amazon.com/How-Draw-sketch…
    Figure Drawing: Design and Invention - Michael Hampton: www.amazon.com/Figure-Drawing-…

Online/Videos:
    The Gnomon Workshop: www.thegnomonworkshop.com/
    idrawgirls - Xia Taptara: idrawgirls.com/
    Cntrl + Paint: ctrlpaint.com/
    CGMA: 2d.cgmasteracademy.com/

Hope this helps . Other than that, feel free to take a look around the forums.