Thanks

InPursuitOfArt - Becoming a Self-Taught Artist Blog

Hey guys I wanted to introduce my blog to you in the hopes that it might motivate you to never give up, to help speed your progress up by showing you my mistakes and to just share the journey I've been on for the past few years.
    I've been learning on my own, I've never taken an art class, I've never drawn or have been interested in art before the age of 22. I just decided to try it out one day and I haven't stopped since. I've decided to take this seriously last year, this is at the age of 25 and I hope to be able to help you as well.

I really wanted to share this post, it's entitled The Key Behind Progress and Learning, it's about your brain, why you learn and how to learn best, I think it's one of the most important things you should ever learn about, because with this knowledge you can master anything.

The Key Behind Progress and Learning
    “I hear and I forget, I see and I remember I do and I understand” – Confucius

A lesson is not learned when you can recite its contents word for word, or when you receive an A in school or an excellent diploma, nor when you are able to speak about your subject at length and impress your listeners. A lesson is learned by doing, when it becomes so much a part of you that it seems like you always knew its contents, that you were born knowing how to do it or at least there was a piece of that knowledge in you before you ever even knew about it. You might not even be able to put it into words. When someone asks you “How do you do that?” you can’t even begin to think how to explain it, you just know how to do something and it feels natural – a part of who you are, that is the essence of learning. But how does that happen?...

I don't want to make the page massive long, so please check out the rest of the post here

Thank you very much. I'll share more things here as I write them.
    Last edited by volen; May 7th, 2014 at 03:28 AM.