iPad for professional drawings?

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

iPad for professional drawings?

Dear all,

I am a traditional media artist, accustomed to drawing with paper, pencils and a little photoshop. Due to work and heavy travelling time, I have not been drawing for the longest time. I am now thinking of migrating to the iPad and picking up drawing, inking and coloring again. However, this is a whole new playing field for me.

I am thinking of getting an iPad air, a pencil 53 stylus (http://shop.fiftythree.com) and apps like paper, procreate etc. Will this work, or is drawing on tablets still in the infant stages? If anyone has any success stories or recommendations, I would be most grateful.

Many thanks!!!

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Your better off with a wacom penabled device, like the Galaxy Note 10.1 (2014) http://www.samsung.com/global/micros...alaxynote10.1/

Or, get a Microsoft Surface Pro 1 or 2 and get full blown windows ont he go with Wacom. Then you have much better software to use too, like photoshop, which you are used to.

Even though pens like the Jot Touch 4 are making ipad a mroe viable solution, they are still clunky and awkward compared to Wacom. Plus, you impose a lot of limits on the little Android and Ipad IOS tablets.

Still, for just jotting down ideas and sketching it will work, I think you will just prefer the feel and function of something better suited for drawing.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I imagine you'd need to perform a substantial amount of zooming which let's face things, it's nicer than the shortcuts on a normal computer. Fine for vector arts, most certainly.