Terusan - Composition 1.1

Join 500,000+ artists on ConceptArt.Org.

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Terusan - Composition 1.1

Thanks

Terusan - Composition 1.1

Hi all !

Jason was right this was a lot of fun! It is my first time doing studies and I didn't know how very differently and deeply you can perceive a picture doing this kind of studies..
    I know that I didn't really measure well the proportions, I just didn't really wanted to get back and correct them because this was not the idea, I had to understand the idea as a hole and move forward. I will be watching these mistakes in the next studies.
    For now, just two works:

1. Edouard Manet - Luncheon on the Grass
    Name:  Edouard_Manet_024.jpg
Views: 247
Size:  170.2 KB
    I tried to keep an eye on every point discussed in the lesson, but I didn't find all of them in this piece. There is rythm represented by the tree trunks - some are very near, others farther creating this playful rhythm, like jumping right-left-right-left-.. in the picture and creating a continuity that leads to the woman who is washing in the river and even after her. This continuity is also enhanced by the light in the forest, leading the eye to the horizon behind the dressed woman.There is definitely unity presented by the triangle composition of the figures with the emphasis on the naked woman, especially her being the single figure looking at us directly.Balance is created by the triangle composition and also by the man on the right leaning on his hand and the canvas with food on the opposite side.

I saw less economy, maybe just in the trees, and not so much repetition, maybe also in the tree leaves. Variety, in the tree trunk direction ?

2. Jacques-Louis David - The death of Marat.
    Name:  Death_of_Marat_by_David.jpg
Views: 223
Size:  115.3 KB