Rom-ko - Color & Light 1.1

Join 500,000+ artists on ConceptArt.Org.

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Rom-ko - Color & Light 1.1

Thanks

Rom-ko - Color & Light 1.1

Hi everyone. My name is Roman and this is my self-portrait. I've spend 4 hours I guess. I hope you like it.
    Name:  selfportrait8.png
Views: 453
Size:  301.2 KB
    First of all I'm so sorry for my ugly English.
    Mass shadow. After a quick sketch of the basic proportions I started painting and tried to use just only one big brush and didn't go into details. I blocked-in the shadow area of the face that turned from the light.
    Reflexes. for me it is quite a complex area and requires searching the differences in the shadows.
    Cast shadow. I found some shadows falling from the nose, upper lip, and from the lips on the chin. I found cast shadows in eye-socket area as well. Hard edges.
    Core Shadow. I tried to add a tone at the edges of light and shadow parts and soften them a bit.
    Mass light. Studied that with spot light of the lamp.
    Half-tones. I tried to define where the form slightly turns from light and pushed tone there.
    Highlights. The funniest part of painting I guess. I searched area that almost fully reflects the primer light source and tried to define differences between them.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,308 Times in 666 Posts
    No worries, your English is fine! I hope my writing will be easy to understand. Really great portrait Roman! your proportions are good and I like how you handle your edges where the mass light meets the darks. You have good highlight-echonomy (If I can call it that) as well. It's easy to be careless and paint too many speculars but you have a nice balance.