Thanks

When is it worth it to go after a client legally?

So in my 10+ years as a graphic designer, I've taken a total loss of roughly $10k USD. Now, this isn't terrible by any means, but losing money still hurts as a freelancer. I've had contracts, but at the low amounts (roughly 2.5k/job), I would typically be stuck with having to go to the client's state to file a small claims case. Even if you win, there's still no guarantee you'd get the payment even though they'd be legally obligated to pay. Now you factor in the time required to file paperwork, make court appearances, (usually twice, since the real d-bags will file an appeal)expenses for the flight and housing, and it becomes readily apparent that I can't justify chasing down these clients.

So I guess my question to the community is: When is it worth it? Is there a monetary amount where having a lawyer makes more sense (quotes I've received were $1500 retainer to get started, and roughly $125/hr after). Even if I have a clause that the client pays my legal fees, I feel like it's simply not worth putting forth that capital up front just to win $2k.

However, I did have one client locally that I took to small claims and won the judgement (in-house contract job). It took almost two years from the day I filed paperwork to the day I received the check (But in that case, it was worth the annoyance for the principal of the matter ).
    Please PM me if you'd like an individual crit.

idrawyouonthesubway
    huxleycreative

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Thanked 11,435 Times in 2,935 Posts
    I will ask the recommended lawyers to come in and answer some of the questions in here as this is a very good one.