Thanks

Is there a "Too Old" to try and become a concept Artist?

Hi All -

this question is sort of a big part of why I joined the site...

Im 36 - I have been a VFX artist for 12 years (Mostly though in layout) and now I am an Art Director for a small collectibles company. (I did digital sculpting on the side)

The department that always seemed to be the "coolest" for me at the companies I worked for (Tippett, ILM, Dreamworks) was the Concept Art department. I just never had the talent to get in there...

I know you can learn a lot of these techniques - But when I look at the work of a lot of top guys I kind of feel like "Ill never be THAT good.." So it discouraged me quite a bit...

But now, I kind of want to give it another shot.. But at 36, and I "too old" to learn and be competitive in the field?? Is it something like the 4 foot 8 guy who dreams of being an NBA player but just "can't."

Just want to get some input from people here... ANyone else been in this position and "made it".. Or is it a young persons game now?

Thanks for taking the time to read this!

Tyler
    Last edited by TylerHam; September 10th, 2013 at 03:53 PM. Reason: Typed too fast - Typos!

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    It's never too late to begin to learn something new. and let alone start drawing it's just about to get started right away and not spend time thinking about whether it is too late, then it may be too late one day

examples:

Anna Mary Robertson "Grandma" Moses was in her 70s when she began painting scenes of her rural life in upstate New York. This self-taught artist, mother and widow became one of the most famous American folk artists of the 20th century and continued painting in her 90s.

And an old post
    http://www.conceptart.org/forums/sho...d.php?t=268835
    That Which Does Not Kill Us Makes Us Stranger

Thanks