Sketchbook: Jakkrobbit's Pile o' Sketches
Join Free Art WorkShopJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Jakkrobbit's Pile o' Sketches

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Jakkrobbit's Pile o' Sketches

Hey, everyone! I've been lurking in CA for a while and it seems like a great place to post sketches and drawings for feedback. I studied Sequential Art with a minor of Concept Art for Games at SCAD for two years, but left due to financial reasons. I've spent the past 2 and a half years saving money, and next week I'll start school at a college in my hometown with a major in Animation and Game Art Design.

Truth be told, I'm sort of stuck in a crossroads when it comes to deciding what I want to do with my career. I know I want to make art for a living; I want to entertain people with my drawings and I want to tell stories, but I don't have a specific job position or company in mind like most people seem to. I attended a portfolio review with a Disney recruiter back in May, and when he asked me what I wanted to do in animation, I bullshitted him for a few minutes before finally being honest and saying "whatever gets my foot in the door." He laughed, so I guess what I said wasn't horrible, but he did tell me to pick a specific position, which I haven't been able to do.

This is a long-winded way of me saying I need to get my shit together. Anyway, less talking, more drawing! These sketches are from last month. I plan to post more in a couple of days. Hopefully these files don't turn out to be insanely huge. One of them is a negative space study and the others are gestures I drew while it was slow at my second job (which I quit this week thankfully). You guys are gonna learn how much I fucking love gestures. I also threw in a drawing of Lust from FMA so you can see I'm not avoiding faces. I swear I have no aversion to drawing them; it's just that I concrete more of the body when I make gestures.

Again, I'm praying these files aren't too big.