Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    328
    Thanks
    45
    Thanked 92 Times in 86 Posts

    Books similar to William Gibson's monalisa overdrive

    so the title says everything ......
    i read monalisa overdrive after viewing one of feng's videos...
    i loved it... so im looking for more sci-fi/cyberpunk books
    any suggestions on what books should i go for??


  2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1,341
    Thanks
    533
    Thanked 528 Times in 305 Posts
    When gravity fails
    *** Sketchbook and other stuff ***

    Flashback's SB

    Anatomy Atlas

    Digital Galleries

    Visit & Support:
    http://www.ctrlpaint.com/

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    1,745
    Thanks
    1,932
    Thanked 1,752 Times in 724 Posts
    Always willing to help a fellow cyberpunk fan out . Personally, I have not read everything by William Gibson, but here's a start:


    - You say you've read Mona Lisa Overdrive. I'm not sure whether you've read the other pieces of the 'sprawl trilogy' its a part of. Either way, these are Neuromancer, Count Zero, and Mona Lisa Overdrive. Largely the same setting, themes and many recurring characters. These are cyberpunk classics, really!

    - Burning Chrome is a collection of shorter scifi/cyberpunk stories. I personally thought these were absolutely excellent and I'd highly recommend them.

    - The 'bridge trilogy' consists of Virtual Light, Idoru, and All tomorrows' parties. Sci-fi, if slightly less focused on the 'cyberpunk' side. Shares many themes with the other books, as well as the style and atmosphere. I have not read the entire trilogy yet, so I can't give you a verdict yet. Loving it so far.

    Happy reading! Also looking forward to seeing other suggestions.

    Take a look at my Website!

  5. #4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    3,177
    Thanks
    752
    Thanked 2,362 Times in 1,214 Posts
    Neuromancer was the best of that trilogy.

    Try:
    Snow Crash & Diamond Age by Neal Stephenson
    Spin State & Spin Control by Chris Moriarty
    Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep & A Scanner Darkly by Phillip K. Dick
    Bone Dance by Emma Bull
    Only Forward by Michael Marshall Smith
    *** Sketchbook * Landscapes * Portfolio * Store***

    "There are two kinds of students: the self-taught and the hopeless."
    - Dr. Piotr Rudnicki

Similar Threads

  1. William Bouguereau books?
    By FlameDragon in forum Art Discussions
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: October 10th, 2010, 06:11 PM
  2. Art: William Gibson's "Neuromancer"
    By DazWatford in forum Finished Art
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: November 23rd, 2007, 07:31 PM
  3. William Gibson's Neuromancer
    By Hookswords in forum Artist Lounge
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: May 23rd, 2007, 10:57 PM
  4. Art: Monalisa oil free
    By rept0r in forum 3D Art, Sculpture & Toy Art
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: May 22nd, 2006, 03:07 AM

Members who have read this thread: 0

There are no members to list at the moment.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Designed by The Coldest Water, we build the coldest best water bottles, ice packs and best pillows.