Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Thanks

Swigganicks' Sketchbook!

I'm a 19 year old artist that loves digital painting purely as a hobby. The only thing I've drawn before 2013 was little shapes and spirals on the corner of my notes, but inspiration hits me daily and art seemed like the perfect outlet for these images that are stuck in my head.

I never had any art instruction so I've dedicated myself to becoming a competent, self-taught artist. This is turning out to be much harder than I thought, but I enjoy the struggle which, for me, is what really counts.

My main focus is on environments because I love creating worlds and scenes and imagining myself in them!

Here's my initial dump of some stuff I recently finished:
    Attached Images Attached Images    
    Last edited by swigganicks; May 2nd, 2013 at 11:41 PM.

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Good work! I feel like I recognize that pear from a tutorial somewhere. Keep it up!

I'm new here and could always use some advice / criticism. Feel free to take a peak at my sketchbook if you have the time.

Thanks
    It's not from a tutorial, it's from a reference image. Thanks for looking at my stuff!

Thanks
    These are the first landscapes thumbnails I did before even learning anything about drawing/painting. I did them to serve as a baseline that I can improve from and look back on later to see my overall progress. I realized after doing these a month ago that color is not the best way to start learning digital painting

I'm going to try to stick to black and white to focus more on value and getting composition down.

Thanks
    Here's a vase I did for a Ctrl-Paint tutorial. I really enjoyed rendering it!

Thanks
    Loving the thumbnails!
    Watch out with the glow/soft brush on top of the vase.

keep them coming!
    See my latest Sketchbook work!
    Feel Free to comment!

Thanks