What are you buying exactly with an "adoptable"?

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

What are you buying exactly with an "adoptable"?

Hello people at Concept art! I am aware that you profesionals don't do this "adoptables" stuff But I am still wondering about them.

I am a law student (I have yet to study intelectual property) and I am confused about What rights you are getting exactly with an "adoptable"

Obviously you don't gain the "right" to claim you created the adoptable. But let's suppose your "adoptable" becomes famous because you develop it/him. Do you have a right as a co-creator?

The property right is divided in 3 the right to enjoy it's profits and fruits (ius frutendi)/to use it in whatever way you want (utendi)/ and to enjoy it (abutendi)

By "adoptable" I am getting the the 3 full property rights?. I mean adoptable isn't really a legal term and it doesn't mean anything. You can't "adopt" things you only get rights over them

Some people say that you can't "profit" from an adoptable,some people don't allow you to "resell" the adoptable,others make you to always credit the original creator, some say that you can't change them etc

Becuase you aren't getting the 3 full property rights, you don't really have property over the character. This makes me wonder that maybe an adoptable in some cases isn't really a contract of sale.Becuase if you were the owner you wouldn't have to obey this conditions.

In some cases it seems to be more of a "perpetual license" where you don't actually own the character but you are only allowed to use it on a certain way.

So who is the owner?

what are you buying exactly?

is it a sale contract or a license contract?

It might not seem important. But I think this vagueness of the term might give A LOT of problems, later on. Specially if the adopted character becomes sucessful for some reason.